Congresswoman Jackie Speier

Proudly Representing San Francisco and the Peninsula


Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Speier and 50 House Members Call for An End to the Federal Ban on Gun Violence Research

November 20, 2015
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Congresswoman Jackie Speier (D-San Francisco/San Mateo), along with 50 co-signers, sent a letter requesting that the House Appropriations Committee remove the “Dickey Amendment” that bans the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) from providing funds for gun violence research.

“Gun violence is a threat to public health, and it’s time to end this ludicrous ban that prevents our nation’s top minds from figuring out how to shield our communities from gun violence,” said Speier. “We spend $240 million per year to research traffic safety, over $233 million on food safety, and $331 million on the impact of tobacco but we know almost nothing about the firearms that kill 33,000 Americans every year. As a result, we lack fundamental information about the causes of gun violence and what public policy measures could effectively stem the tide of gun deaths. This state of affairs cannot continue.”

The “Dickey Amendment” currently bans HHS from providing funds for gun violence research, even though 33,000 Americans die from gun violence in school shootings, domestic disputes, suicides, violent episodes, and gun accidents every year. As a result, little information about the causes of gun violence is available and much of it may be out of date.

The letter is supported by the Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence and the Million Mom March.

Cosigners (50): Don Beyer, Earl Blumenauer, Suzanne Bonamici, Steve Cohen, John C. Carney, Jr., John Conyers, Elijah E. Cummings, Mark DeSaulnier, Ted Deutch, Tammy Duckworth, Donna F. Edwards, Eliot L. Engel, Anna Eshoo, Elizabeth Esty, Chaka Fattah, Lois Frankel, Raúl M. Grijalva, Michelle Lujan Grisham, Jim Himes, Mike Honda, Jared Huffman, Henry “Hank” Johnson, William R. Keating, Robin L. Kelly, James R. Langevin, Brenda L. Lawrence, Barbara Lee, Ted Lieu, Zoe Lofgren, Carolyn Maloney, James P. McGovern, Gregory W. Meeks, Grace Meng, Jerrold Nadler, Grace F. Napolitano, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Bill Pascrell, Jr., Charles B. Rangel, Kathleen M. Rice, Cedric L. Richmond, Jan Schakowsky, Adam Schiff, Adam Smith, Eric Swalwell, Mike Thompson, Chris Van Hollen, Mike Quigley

Click here to read Speier’s letter