SAN MATEO, CA - Congresswoman Jackie Speier (D-San Francisco/San Mateo/Redwood City) will sponsor her 10th Job Hunters Boot Camp in conjunction with Assemblymember Kevin Mullin and the San Mateo County Workforce Investment Board on Wednesday, October 16, 2013 at the San Mateo County Event Center. A record number of employers and job seekers have registered for the event which is a combination of a job fair and workshops. The over 60 employers who are hiring include banks, credit unions, hotels, security and transportation companies and retailers (see full list below.) Even with another week before the event, attendance is already at 850 and job seekers continue to sign up.

Workshops will include Choosing the Greater Good with KCBS anchor Jeff Bell, Ten Common Mistakes made by Job Seekers with recruiting expert Donna Fedor, How to Ace your interview with career consultant Rebecca Kieler, and How to Get a Job Using your Smartphone with White House Champion of Change Pablo Fuentes.

“The outpouring of interest from both employers and job seekers shows that the economy is recovering and companies are hiring,” Speier said. “But it also makes clear that there are still too many people looking for employment. The most meaningful rewards during these events are to reassure job seekers and help to strengthen their skills and networks.“

Job Hunters Boot camp will take place even if the federal government shutdown is in effect.

Who:              
Congresswoman Jackie Speier
Jeff Bell, radio news anchor, author, motivational speaker
Donna Fedor, founder of Results Thinking Solutions
Pablo Fuentes, founder of Proven
Rebecca Kieler, career management consultant, author, speaker
Wayne Rainey, recruiter, career advice columnist
Susan Schwartz, founder of You Who Branding
Joan Tabb, founder of Great in 8 Coaching

What:            
Job Hunters Boot Camp
           
Where:            
San Mateo County Event Center, Fiesta Hall
1346 Saratoga Drive
San Mateo      

When:            
Wednesday, October 16, 2013
10:00 am – 2: 00 pm

Full list of employers:
1.    1-800Courier • www.1-800courier.com
2.    ABC Chauffered Limousines • www.abctrans.com
3.    Adecco North America • www.adeccona.com
4.    Allied Barton Security Services • www.alliedbarton.com
5.    Always Best Care Senior Services • www.alwaysbestcarepeninsula.com
6.    Amici’s East Coast Pizzeria • www.amicis.com
7.    Apple Family Works • www.familyworks.org
8.    Apple One • www.appleone.com
9.    Apprenticeships: Building and Construction Trades • http://www.buildingc3.com/
10.    AT&T • www.att.com
11.    Bauers Transportation • www.bauersit.com
12.    Blood Centers of the Pacific • www.bloodcenters.org
13.    Blue Shield of California • www.blueshieldca.com
14.    Bright Pattern • www.brightpattern.com
15.    Caccia Plumbing • www.Cacciaplumbing.com
16.    California Staffing Services, Inc. • www.californiastaffingservice.com
17.    Center for Independent Living • www.cilberkeley.org
18.    Citibank • www.careers.citigroup.com
19.    CLP Resources • http://www.clp.com/
20.    Coeus Financial and Insurance • www.coeusfinancial.com
21.    Comfort Inn at Stanford • www.paloaltoci.com/www.sfosuites.com/www.paloaltoqi.com/
22.    Department of Rehabilitaion, State of California • www.dor.ca.gov
23.    DeVry University • www.devry.edu
24.    East Palo Alto • www.cityofepa.org
25.    ECC • www.ecc.net
26.    Embassy Suites/Doubletree Hotel by Hilton • www.hiltonworldwide.com/careers
27.    Franklin Templeton • www.franklintempleton.com
28.    Goodwill Industries of San Francisco, San Mateo, and Marin Counties
• www.sfgoodwill.org
29.    Home Depot • www.homedepot.com
30.    Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport •
http://sanfranciscoairport.hyatt.com/hyatt/hotels-sanfranciscoairport/index.jsp?null
31.    IKEA • www.ikea.com
32.    Ironworkers Local 118 • www.iw118.org
33.    Lab Support • www.oalabsupport.com
34.    Lowes • www.lowes.com
35.    Nelson Staffing • www.nelsonstaffing.com
36.    New York Life/NYLIFE Securities LLC • www.newyorklife.com
37.    Nothing Bundt Cakes • http://www.nothingbundtcakes.com/
38.    Patelco Credit Union • www.patelco.org
39.    PG&E • www.pge.com
40.    Radisson Hotel • www.radisson.com
41.    Robert Half International • www.rhi.com
42.    Safeway • www.safeway.com
43.    Salvation Army • www.usw.salvationarmy.org
44.    San Francisco International Airport • www.flysfo.com
45.    San Francisco MTA • www.sfmta.com
46.    San Mateo Daily Journal • www.smdailyjournal.com
47.    See’s Candies • www.sees.com
48.    Sheraton Hotel and Westin Hotel in Palo Alto • www.phmhotels.com
49.    Silicon Segway • www.siliconsegway.com
50.    Sofitel • www.sofitel.com
51.    Sutter Health, Peninsula Coastal Region • http://www.sutterhealth.org/employment/
52.    Target • www.target.com
53.    Total Success Staffing • www.totalsuccessstaff.com
54.    UNIQLO • www.fastretailing.com
55.    Ultimate Staffing Services • www.ultimatestaffing.com
56.    United Parcel Service • www.upsjobs.com
57.    US Postal Service • www.usps.com
58.    Virgin America • www.virginamerica.com
59.    VISA • www.visa.com
60.    Wells Fargo • www.wellsfargo.com
61.    Wollborg/Michelson • www.wmjobs.com
62.    World Financial Group - WGF • www.worldfinancialgroup.com


###