WASHINGTON, DC – Congresswoman Jackie Speier (CA-14) on Thursday introduced the Strengthening Investigations into Foreign Entanglements Act, bipartisan legislation that would give congressional intelligence committees the authority needed to acquire tax returns – including those of the President and future presidential candidates.

“We can’t be sure what influence Russia has had on Trump the real estate developer, Trump the candidate, and now, Trump the President. My constituents recognize even from 3,000 miles away that it is critically important that the President release his tax returns like all other Presidents have done. My bill would give the House and Senate Permanent Select Committees on Intelligence the authority to request the President’s tax returns from the Internal Revenue Service. We must understand if Russia’s economic web has ensnared the inhabitant of the highest office in the land,” Rep. Speier said.

For more than 100 years, the Committee on Ways and Means of the House of Representatives, the Committee on Finance of the Senate, and the Joint Committee on Taxation have had the ability to obtain an individual’s tax information. This process was used in 1973 and 1974 to review and make public President Nixon’s tax returns after it was discovered that he owed nearly $500,000 in taxes. The Strengthening Investigations into Foreign Entanglements Act would give the House and Senate Select Committees on Intelligence the same authority to request tax returns that the tax-writing committees have.

Rep. Speier’s bill has 33 original cosponsors: Earl Blumenauer (OR-03); AndrĂ© Carson (IN-07);

Kathy Castor (FL-14); Joaquin Castro (TX-20); Judy Chu (CA-27); Steve Cohen (TN-09); Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11); Theodore E. Deutsch (FL-22); Dwight Evans (PA-02); Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20); James A. Himes (CT-04); Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18); Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08); Walter B. Jones (NC-03); Marcy Kaptur (OH-09); William R. Keating (MA-09); Rick Larsen (WA-02); Barbara Lee (CA-13); Doris O. Matsui (CA-06); Jerry McNerney (CA-09); Jerrold Nadler (NY-10); Richard M. Nolan (MN-08); Donald Norcross (NJ-01); Chellie Pingree (ME-01); Mike Quigley (IL-05); Jamie Raskin (MD-08); Carol Shea-Porter (NH-01); Albio Sires (NJ-08); Eric Swalwell (CA-15); Mike Thompson (CA-05); Maxine Waters (CA-43); Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12); Peter Welch (VT-AL).

A copy of the bill can be found here.