WASHINGTON. D.C. – Congresswoman Jackie Speier (CA-14) today introduced a resolution demanding that President Trump condemn the murder of US-based journalist Jamal Khashoggi, hold culpable individuals accountable for that crime, and condemn violence against journalists worldwide.

“The President’s passiveness and failure to act more than six months after Jamal Khashoggi’s deliberate and premeditated murder is indefensible. His plans to meet with Saudi Crown Prince Mohammad Bin Salman at the G-20 summit is a further slap in the face to Khashoggi’s loved ones, friends, and colleagues around the globe,” said Rep. Speier, a member of the House Armed Services and Intelligence committees. “It also endangers journalists by showing that the United States will not impose consequences on leaders who jail, torture, execute, and dismember members of the press.”

The Trump Administration has only sanctioned low-level Saudi officials since Khashoggi was kidnapped and killed in Turkey. The President’s feckless and weak response is especially galling in light of last week’s news that U.N. investigator Agnes Callamard concluded there is “sufficient, credible evidence” that Bin Salman bears responsibility for Khashoggi’s assassination.

The Administration’s dereliction of duty weakens US credibility when calling out other nations for the abuse and intimidation of journalists and gives implicit approval for such behavior to continue. The Committee to Protect Journalists found that in 2018, at least 251 journalists were imprisoned and 54 were killed globally.

Rep. Speier’s resolution recounts the facts of Jamal Khashoggi’s abduction and slaying and violence against journalists at home and abroad. It also demands that the President take concrete action to hold those guilty accountable and promote press freedom.

The resolution cosponsors are: Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Cheri Bustos (D-IL), James P. McGovern (D-MA), Mike Thompson (D-CA), Dina Titus (D-NV), Matt Cartwright (D-PA), Mark Takano (D-CA), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Susan Davis (D-CA), Judy Chu (D-CA), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Albio Sires (D-NJ), Gerry Conolly (D-VA), Joaquin Castro (D-TX), Jerry McNerney (D-CA), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Jim Costa (D-CA), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Tom Suozzi (D-NY), Tom Malinowski (D-NJ), Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA), Joe Morelle (D-NY), Sean Casten (D-IL), Karen Bass (D-CA), Juan Vargas (D-CA), John Garamendi (D-CA), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Ro Khanna (D-CA), Gil Cisneros (D-CA), and Peter DeFazio (D-OR).