Washington, DC – Today, Representatives Jackie Speier (D-CA), Patrick Meehan (R-PA), Annie Kuster (D-NH), and David Joyce (R-OH), the co-chairs of the Bipartisan Task Force to End Sexual Violence, released the following statement regarding the letter sent to Secretary DeVos and Acting Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights. The letter urges the U.S. Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights (OCR) to provide transparency about the Title IX investigation process by continuing to make the list of colleges and universities under investigation for possible violations of federal law over the handling of sexual violence and harassment complaints available to the public.

“Ending sexual violence on our college campuses will never become a reality if college and university communities are kept in the dark. We urge you to affirm your commitment to survivors of sexual violence and harassment by continuing to publish the list of colleges and universities under investigation for Title IX violations,” said the Task Force Co-Chairs. “It is critical for both providing full information to students, parents, and communities, as well as for ensuring accountability when sexual violence occurs.”

The letter is signed by 16 other bipartisan members of the Task Force: Representatives Lois Frankel (D-FL), Ted Poe (R-TX), Niki Tsongas (D-MA), Lynn Jenkins (R-KS),  Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Don Bacon (R-NE), Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY), Ryan A. Costello (R-PA), Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Daniel M. Donovan, Jr. (R-NY), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Rodney Davis (R-IL), Jim Costa (D-CA), Katherine Clark (D-MA), Gwen S. Moore (D-WI), and Walter B. Jones (R-NC).

Click here to view a copy of the letter.